Daily Motivation

I wrote out a set of things upon which I focus throughout my day. In reality it’s my “self-improvement” checklist and it’s one of the last things I see before I start my day. The absolute last thing I see, though, is my tin sign with a John Wayne quote that says “Courage is being scared to death but saddling up anyway” (it hangs right above my apartment door); it sets the tone for my day of pushing through any adversity regardless of whether it scares the shit out of me. The combination of the two reminds me to stand firm in my convictions and keep blazing my own path.

My self-improvement document is below.

 


SELF IMPROVEMENT

Dedicate yourself to it.

 

Listen to music and get fired up. Some acceptable choices are:

  • Stone Sour (the hard and heavy songs, not the depressing stuff)
  • Godsmack
  • Social Distortion
  • Black Label Society
  • Volbeat

Approach and make conversation with someone new.

Hit the gym and lift. If your blood isn’t pumping to the point where you want to crush some heads then you’re doing it wrong. You’ll want to focus on these:

  • Bench Press
  • Bicep Curls
  • Pull-down
  • Low Row

Go on walks like a motherfucker (but don’t chafe your ass like that one time).

Stay active on Fitocracy and log your workouts. You’ll be more willing to do the above and it will give you considerable amounts of motivation.

Play your guitars or your bass. Even if it’s just for a few minutes you’ll start feeling creative.

Try new combinations on your signal chain. You have a metric fuckton of pedals to choose from so figure out what sounds great.

Read or write something so you either consume or produce creative works.


 

Take from my document what you can; it helps me every day and try to accomplish as many things on it as I can. When I go to bed each night I wind up feeling accomplished and then that provides even more fire to get something done the next day.

 

Leave a Reply

